Just got back

     I am sure you have missed me.  Sorry I have not posted very much in the past few days.  I have been out of town interviewing for a new job.  My time with Uncle Sam is slowly coming to an end.  (but not quick enough).
      I had some interesting observations and thoughts while I was away.  I had the fortunate opportunity to spend sometime in the waiting rooms of different ERs.  I suggest that every medical professional spend some time in their respective waiting room.  While in the waiting rooms, I did learn just how frustrating that place could be for a patient.  The waiting room seems to be a place that someone could be stuck in forever.  Time moves slower than in the world outside the waiting room.  I was not even in pain or had a medical condition.  I am sure it would move even slower for the people who needed to be there.  You check in and get your vital signs taken.  You are then asked to sit back in the chairs.  “We will be with you as soon as we can.”  So you sit there staring at those doors (all while thinking you have a life threatening disease) longingly hoping for that time that your are ushered back to a haven of relief.  But instead of relief you sit there as the seconds slowly tick by, wondering, praying, begging that you will be next all while feeling that there is no light at the end of this pitch black tunnel.  I wish there was a way we (on the otherside of the doors) could help.  We are pushed to the limit as well.  We have no place to put them.  At least they have a place to sit in the waiting room.  I order labs on the waiting room patients while I am in the back with the goal of speeding up their transit from this seemingly endless abyss.  I think it helps.  I hope they at least feel that something is being done besides letting them watch a 3 year old rerun of Jerry Springer on the waiting room TV. Maybe we could put a screen out there that would let them see where they are in line.  But this could be detrimental.  What would they think when someone jumps infront of them because they have a more severe condition but have only been here for 3 minutes.  Again I think it comes to communication.  But that is a great concept that is not easy to start.  I do not know what to do!?!?
     Another thing I learned was that local governments were going to try to legalized meth.  No, not marijuana but meth (methamphetamine). And supposedly, per a patient, they have already legalized meth in Kansas City, KS.  I doubt this is true but someone from Kansas City might be able to enlighten us further.
     We need to work as a team.  Not every ER (or hospital or clinic) is an island.  Actually, none of us are islands.  Instead, we all have the same problems.  We each think we are unique and these problems we have are unique to only our ER.  But this is not true.  I interviewed at 4 hospitals.  I asked each what their problems were and they asked me what problems I have at my current place of employment.  It was suprising how most the problems we all had were actually the same.  So why do we all have to reinvent the wheel?  We all suffer from the same problems and for some reason we think that each problem needs 100 different answers.  I know each has some uniqueness.  But 95% is the same.  We need to come together and figure out a uniform way of doing things.  That way we can really improve on a large scale.  No I do not want us all to work under 1 controlling entity.  We all try to treat traumas with a certain universal protocol.  This is also true for ACLS, pneumonia, c-spine injuries, etc…  It is called standard of care.  We need to develop standard of care for running medicine then hopefully we could more easily trim the fat.  Thus improving care while decreasing cost.  Just an idea.
Leave a Reply

